Today is

Thursday, August 11, 2011

All Six Republicans Appointed To Super Congress Committee Are Norquist Pledgers

The so-called "super" congressional committee appointed to achieve a bipartisan and balanced approach for driving down the nation's long term debt has been poisoned with Grover Norquist ideologues.

Think Progress Excerpt:
House Speaker John Boehner (R-OH) and Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY) announced today their picks for the fiscal super committee created by the debt ceiling deal, naming Sens. Jon Kyl (AZ), Pat Toomey (PA), Rob Portman (OH), and Reps. Jeb Hensarling (TX), Dave Camp (MI), and Fred Upton (MI) to the body.

All six Republicans have superseded their oath of office with a pledge to Grover Norquist never to raise tax revenue for any reason under any circumstances. All but 13 Republicans in Congress (Senate and House) have signed the pledge.

Pledge Signers

Politico falsely assumes, Super Committee lineup gives hope for deal.

No comments:

Post a Comment